top of page
  • Writer's picturePaula Quinn

The Savage Beast

Updated: May 4, 2018

Writer’s block. Staring at a blank page or the end of your last paragraph and not knowing what comes next. Doubting myself.

That’s my beast.

It’s frustrating and makes me shift around in my chair until my back hurts.

But then I turn on my music. I have a playlist of songs for every book to listen to while I write them.

I know it’s cliché—music soothes the savage beast. For me, it ‘s true. Music takes me to where my characters are, and once I’m there, I can write them and their story. Music is my muse.

She comes and with a poignant melody or lyrics that could have been written especially for my hero and heroine, and kicks writer’s block in the face.

There have been certain songs that fit my stories so well, they will forever bring me back to the book I wrote while listening to it over and over, thousands of times.

One of them is Come What May, sung by Ewen McGregor and Nicole Kidman. It still gets me teary eyed when I listen to it. There’s such passion in their voices as they pledge their love until their dying day. I hear it and I’m in Camlochlin with Callum MacGregor and Kate Campbell. It will never fit another book the way it fit Laird of the Mist. Callum and Kate had so many obstacles to overcome, but their love was unstoppable.

Another song that carried me through an entire book was Anywhere by Evanescence, the book was Ravished By A Highlander. I mean, listen to it.  For a woman who was locked away from the world for her own protection, then rescued by a Highlander who offers her freedom in a place where her identity doesn’t matter, it’s perfect. I still think of Rob and Davina when I listen to it. Hearing it prompted me to write this blog.


My go to song for Laird of the Black Isle was The First Time Ever I saw You Face, the Robert Flack version. There’s a quietness about it, she even pauses before my love. It causes me to pause and breathe. It’s slow, sensual, and meaningful—like Lachlan’s love for Mailie. This hero had me on page one. I knew he wasn’t completely lost, though he’d been running for so long. Something like this song was in him. He needed a strong, compassionate woman to help him find it.

Of course Adam and Sina's book, Highlander Ever After had a song too. Marble Halls by Enya. Enchanting and so romantic.

All my books have a playlist, but not all of them have their own, exclusive songs. Some have music videos I found on Youtube. Those are mostly my visual inspirations, who capture the essence of my character.






Like the songs, some are more exclusive than others. If you want to see Colin MacGregor check out Spartacus –Blood and Sand – music video by 24alkaa. Andy Whitfield is and always will be Colin. Andy was an inspiration to me through his work and by his life.



So yes, music is my muse and these are some of the things that helped me write the books I hope you love.

Do you have a muse? What soothes the savage beast in you?

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page